EKN Top Banner - News2

July 14, 2010
Event News: Manitoba Karting Association - Moto Kart Klassic Russell Street Race

Yakov Zaretskin (Photo by: Manitoba Karting Association)
Yakov Zaretskin
(Photo by: Manitoba Karting Association)

The weather was cool and cloudy for Race # 4 of the Manitoba Karting Association Championship at the Moto Kart Klassic Russell Street Race Saturday July10th. Three years in planning was worth the effort for a street race under the wooden arches of Main Street Russell Manitoba. The town of Russell Manitoba was made famous during the Winter Olympics as the hometown of Gold medal winner Jon Montgomery. Nearly the whole town pitched in and put on a super event which also included the Russell Rocks all ages live music street party after the races. There were competitors from three provinces; Saskatchewan, Manitoba and Ontario. The track was about a kilometer long with a tight hairpin, uphill and downhill sections. There was passing in every corner and on several occasions drivers were going three wide through the hairpin. For collecting karts that broke down the Russell Fire department provided the coolest recovery vehicles. The Winnipeg Sports Car Club provided an excellent group of corner marshals and race officials. The main sponsors were Twin Valley CO-OP, NAPA and the Town of Russell.

Highlights of Race # 4 Moto Kart Klassic Russell Street Race

# 54 Yakov Zaretskin was the only double winner at the Moto Kart Klassic, winning the Honda Junior 2 class over # 8 Dalton Hubred from Saskatoon and # 66 Tristan Merke 3rd. In the Junior Rotax class Yakov stayed on the bumper of # 12 John Buzza up until the second last lap when Johnís bumper fell off. Yakov took the win, #13 Ashley Siemens moved up to 2nd and # 12 John Buzza finished 3rd .In the Rotax Mini Max class # 66 Tristan Merke managed to draft past # 43 Garrett Gulenchyn on the last lap with # 95 Michael Copp collecting the last podium spot. In Honda Junior 1 # 18 Bryson McDonald from Keewatin Ontario won the Pre-Final and started on pole. # 43 Garrett Gulenchyn got by on the first lap to lead only to be passed by # 67 Stephen Bachalo on lap 7. Stephen pulled away, but # 43 Garret Gulenchyn took advantage of lapped traffic to get ahead before the last lap to take P1. # 67 Stephen Bachalo finished 2nd and # 18 Bryson McDonald took 3rd. Despite a slight drizzle that made the track slippery for the Senior Rotax Final # 97 Travis MacDonald was in his own league as he dominated the Senior Rotax class. Behind Travis there was a 4 kart train battling for 2nd place. # 27 Jeff Bachalo and # 99 Brett Overby went out on the first lap. # 72 Daniel Burkett was running 3rd when he went off on lap 11. At the finish the veteran # 5 Cory Epp maintained 2nd place and # 77 Tyler Perreaux held off # 44 Austin Hunter for 3rd place. The Senior Honda class was the largest class with # 33 Matt Bantle of Saskatoon, # 7 Ian Brown of Manitoba and # 79 Jerry van Beilen of Saskatoon maintaining those positions throughout the Pre-Final and Final. All the excitement was behind them as a long line of karts kept the crowd entertained switching positions lap after lap. Thanks go to the Town of Russell, the organizing committee, track supervisors Dave Campbell and Tom Bruce as well as all the volunteers who made this such a great event! After the race everyone is really looking forward to next yearís Moto Kart Klassic.

Garrett Gulenchyn (Photo by: Manitoba Karting Association)
Garrett Gulenchyn
(Photo by: Manitoba Karting Association)

Results for Race # 4 Moto Kart Klassic Russell Street Race

Honda Junior 1
1. # 43 Garrett Gulenchyn
2. # 67 Stephen Bachalo
3. # 18 Bryson McDonald

Honda Junior 2
1. # 54 Yakov Zaretskin
2. # 8 Dalton Hubred
3. # 66 Tristan Merke

Honda Senior
1. # 33 Mike Bantle
2 # 7 Ian Brown
3. # 79 Jerry van Beilen

Rotax Mini Max
1. # 66 Tristan Merke
2. # 43 Garrett Gulenchyn
3. # 95 Michael Copp

Junior Rotax
1. # 54 Yakov Zaretskin
2. # 13 Ashley Siemens
3. # 12 John Buzza

Senior Rotax
1. # 97 Travis MacDonald
2. # 5 Cory Epp
3. # 77 Tyler Perreaux

Next race is the doubleheader July 24th & 25th at Gimli Motorsport Park. For more information on the MKA, visit http://www.manitobakarting.ca
United States Quebec Ontario Manitoba Saskatchewan Alberta British Columbia New Brunswick Nova Scotia

Go Top
Copyright © 2006 Ekartingnews.ca. All Rights Reserved.       Maintained by Holbi

Search EKN Canada:

More News from this region
Related Stories
Race Report: Manitoba Karting Association - Round Seven
Kawartha Durham Kart Club Readies for Round Eight This Weekend
Lance Stroll Back Home for 2014 ASN Canada FIA Canadian Karting Championships
Team PSL Karting Laying Down Top Finishes at the 2014 Cold Stone US Grand Nationals
Superkarts! USA and Le Monaco de Trois-Rivieres Announce Grand Prize for Peo Shifter Category

This poll has been disabled