EKN Top Banner - News2

August 07, 2012 News
Western Canadian Championships Concludes with Exciting Calgary Doubleheader

Scott Campbell, Bryce Choquer, Garrett Gulenshyn, and Parker Thompson  (left to right) earned prestigious year-end event invites with their 2012 WCC titles (Photo: Michel Boisclair)
Scott Campbell, Bryce Choquer, Garrett Gulenshyn, and Parker Thompson (left to right) earned prestigious year-end event invites with their 2012 WCC titles
(Photo: Michel Boisclair)

The third and final doubleheader of the Western Canadian Championships took place this past weekend (August 4-5) in Calgary, Alberta. Perfect conditions led to some very tight battles for wins and championships.

Scott Campbell who secured his ninth trip to the Rotax Max Challenge Grand Finals, as the 2010 DD2 Masters world champion qualified for the world championship by winning the 2012 Western Canadian Championship in the DD2 class. It wasn’t an easy weekend for Campbell, as Daniel Burkett scored the DD2 win Saturday, making the points chase suddenly very close. As a result, the title was decided at the finish line of the last race. While Alex Gysen took home the Round Six win, Campbell's runner-up finish was enough to secure the championship. Austin King ended as the class runner-up, only 20 points behind the champion, while Burkett finished 3rd.

In the Rotax Max class (Senior), Bryce Choquer had way less pressure, as his strongest competitor for the championship, Chris Glover, didn’t race this weekend. It was still possible for Kevin King to win the title, but Choquer with a third and a second place finishes closed the door and won the title to get his ticket to the Rotax Grand Finals. Kevin King finished second in the title fight, while Tyler Wheeler enjoyed a perfect weekend behind the wheel winning both races to end the year third despite missing the first round.

Parker Thompson had a comfortable lead for the championship title in the Rotax Max junior class before the weekend. He continued to showcase his talent in the Calgary doubleheader, almost scoring a perfect weekend (just missing the pole on Saturday) en route to winning the title and earning an invite the Worlds for the second year in a row.

“Last year wasn’t my best event in U.A.E. but this year, I am determined to have a good one in Portugal” said Thompson.

Jordan Redlin and Matthew Moniz joined in the championship podium celebrations, finishing second and third respectively in the title fights.

In the Mini-Max class, Garrett Gulenshyn didn’t have his best weekend of this championship, but a second place on Saturday was enough to hold the lead he had when in arrived in Calgary and become the 2012 Mini-Max champion. Thus, he won an invitation to race at the 2012 ASN Canada National championships and 2000$ to help him to cover this expenses to get there. Jessica Dezall won the opening affair, before Nolan Vogel and Jeff Fullham used first and second place finishes in race two to end the season second and third respectively on the point charts.

A second place on Saturday and a win on Sunday secured Griffin Dowler the title in the Rotax Micro-Max class. Throughout the year, the young drivers in the class fought very hard and provided some of the most exciting races. Sebastian Mercado, with a win on Saturday, finished second in the championship, ahead of Marco Kacic in third.

In the Rotax Max Masters class, Mike Peltier just missed a perfect season when he finished third in the first pre-final race of the season. With two more wins in Calgary he won the championship over Stephen Orton and Peter Sammon.

The Briggs and Stratton classes entertained onlookers throughout the season. In Junior 1, the championship seemed easy for Dylan Waller, as he just missed a perfect season when he finished second on the last race, 0.017s behind Christina Dezall. As the only one to beat Waller this season, she finished second in the title chase. Graham Haggerty took home third place.

In Junior 2, Alan Haggerty won the title by 10 points over Aaron John Morrison. With a win on Saturday, Haggerty took the lead of the championship. Morrison rebounded with a win on Sunday, but Haggerty secured the title with a second place on Sunday. Christophe Richter finished third.

In Briggs & Stratton Senior, Skylar Dunning almost had a perfect season, but John Kwong beat him by two tenths of a second in the final race. For the championship, Dunning won the title over Ty Campbell and the experienced driver Carlo Triolo.

Full Round Five Western Canadian Championships results available HERE
Full Round Six Western Canadian Championships results available HERE

The full Western Canadian Championships standings are available HERE
United States Quebec Ontario Manitoba Saskatchewan Alberta British Columbia New Brunswick Nova Scotia

Go Top
Copyright © 2006 Ekartingnews.ca. All Rights Reserved.       Maintained by Holbi

Search EKN Canada:

More News from this region
Related Stories
Race Report: Manitoba Karting Association - Round Seven
Kawartha Durham Kart Club Readies for Round Eight This Weekend
Lance Stroll Back Home for 2014 ASN Canada FIA Canadian Karting Championships
Team PSL Karting Laying Down Top Finishes at the 2014 Cold Stone US Grand Nationals
Superkarts! USA and Le Monaco de Trois-Rivieres Announce Grand Prize for Peo Shifter Category

This poll has been disabled